New Brunswick, NJ was formed by Royal Charter on December 30, 1730, within other townships in Middlesex County and Somerset County. It was reformed by Royal Charter with the same boundaries on February 12, 1763, at which time it was divided into north and south wards. New Brunswick was incorporated as a city by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature on September 1, 1784.

Today, New Brunswick, NJ is a vibrant city of over 50,000 residents, a number that triples during the business day with college students, corporate and business employees, hospital and health care workers and visitors.

It is a community with richly diverse neighborhoods, a bustling downtown, and an innovative and popular cultural arts center.

New Brunswick is known as the "Healthcare City" and is home to Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, UMDNJ -Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and Saint Peter's University Hospital. It is also the location of Johnson & Johnson's world headquarters, as well as the largest campuses of Rutgers , The State University of New Jersey. New Brunswick also has three professional theaters and several four-star restaurants.

New Brunswick is the county seat of Middlesex County, hosting many of the county's government offices and facilities.